Ryan Hovarter Named Probationary Trooper within the Indiana State Police-Lowell District

Ryan Hovarter

Indiana has 43 new probationary troopers assigned to state police districts throughout the State. Members of the 70th Indiana State Police Recruit Academy took their oath of office on March 4th at the Zionsville Performing Arts Center.

The recruits received approximately 917 hours of structured training since September 9th, 2010. Their curriculum included administrative subjects, general police subjects, investigations/criminal subjects, criminal and traffic law subjects.

Five new troopers have been assigned to field training officers for at least three months before being placed on solo patrol within the Lowell District which is responsible for Lake, Porter, LaPorte, Newton, Jasper, Pulaski and Starke Counties. Ryan Hovarter of Starke County has been named as a probationary trooper who reported March 14th to the Lowell District. Ryan will start fourteen weeks of field training with experienced troopers. The program allows them to put the skills and knowledge gained in the academy setting to work in the field. Upon successful completion to the field training program, they will receive their own patrol cars and begin solo road patrol responsibilities.