Pulaski County Republicans Win Three Council At-Large Seats

The Pulaski County voters have spoken, despite having a limited number of contested races for the county.

The contested race for County Commissioner District 1 was won by Republican Terry Young with 2672 votes, while his opponent, Democrat William Bauer, followed closely behind with 2426 votes. He will join his fellow Republican Larry Brady who ran unopposed for the District 2 seat.

Republicans also won out the County Council At-Large seats, as Roger Querry, Douglas Roth, and Jerry Sullivan, Jr., each earned more votes than the Democrat candidate Matthew Rausch. Sullivan earned the most votes at 3162, while Roth came in at 3117. Querry followed behind with 2849 votes, and Rausch was short 54 votes with just 2795.

The Eastern Pulaski School Board seats for the Monroe Township were won by Larry Beach, Deke DeMarco, and Rhonda Heims. Kevin Tankerslee’s 1669 votes were not enough to earn him a seat as Heims’ votes tallied 1862, DeMarco’s 1685, and Beach’s 2004.

The Culver Community School Board Union Township District 2 seat went to Mark Maes, who earned 145 votes – just seven votes more than his opponent Edward Behnke.