Don Villwock Reelected as Farm Bureau President

Don Villwock has been unanimously reelected to his sixth term as president of Indiana Farm Bureau and Indiana Farm Bureau Insurance. Villwock, a corn and soybean farmer from Knox County, was elected during the delegate session that marked the conclusion of the IFB convention, which was held in Indianapolis on Dec. 7 and 8.

Villwock first took office as IFB president in January 2002, an honor that Villwock said humbled him. He said he appreciates the trust that the delegate party placed on him and he looks forward to the next three years as he continues to work on behalf of their members and Indiana agriculture.

Prior to his election as president, Villwock served in a number of capacities including vice president, District 7 director, Knox County Farm Bureau president and State Young Farmer Committee chairman. He also served on the Farm Bill Task Force and the Farm Credit Task Force.

A 1972 graduate of Purdue University with a degree in agricultural economics, Villwock served as state executive director of the USDA’s Agricultural Stabilization and Conservation Service (now the Farm Services Agency) from 1989 to 1993. He also served as state agricultural liaison for U.S. Sen. Richard Lugar.

Other leadership positions and awards earned by Villwock include Purdue Distinguished Agricultural Alumnus, past president of the Purdue Ag Alumni Association, Prairie Farmer Master Farmer, Friend of Extension, 33rd degree Scottish Rite Mason and Sagamore of the Wabash – the highest honor that can be bestowed by Indiana’s governor.