Culver School Board Reorganizes for 2013

Culver Community School Superintendent, Brad Schuldt

The Culver Community School Board held their first regular meeting of the year on Monday, Jan. 7, and the first order of business was the swearing-in of new board members.

Vice President Ryan Sieber and notary public Jo Ann Warner administered the oath of office to elected board members David Cooper, Ken VanDePutte, James Wentzell, and Mark Maes, before the board members made their nominations for board officers.

Jack Jones moved to appoint Sieber as president; his motion was seconded by VanDePutte before being passed with no objections. Marilyn Swanson made a motion to appoint Jack Jones as vice president and was seconded by Cooper. That motion also passed unanimously.

Cooper made a motion to appoint VanDePutte as secretary which was passed with seven in favor and none opposed after being seconded by Ed Behnke.

The board appointed Harlod “Sonny” Wyland and the Wyland, Humphrey, Wagner and Clevenger law offices as the legal counsel for the corporation on a contract with an hourly rate of $150. Behnke made the motion and was seconded by Wentzel before being passed unanimously.

The board also approved a motion to continue to hold regular school board meetings at the administration office on the first and third Mondays of each month at 7 p.m. from January through May, and September through December. During June, July, and August, however, the meetings will take place on the third Monday.