Knox School Board Reorganizes for 2013

Superintendent A.J. Gappa

The Knox Community School Board met for the first time this year on Monday night. Before the meeting convened, Superintendent A.J. Gappa said the elected school board members were sworn into office.

“City Judge Charlie Hasnerl came in and administered the oath of office to the four elected members,” said Gappa. “The returning members are Kirk Bennett and Jerry Fletcher and two new members to the school board are Wendy McIntire and Kurt Kemble.”

After the oaths of office were complete, the board reorganized for 2013.

“For the 2013 year, Mike Yankauskas will be president of the school board, which is a position he’s held in previous years. Kirk Bennett will be the vice president and Jerry Fletcher will be the secretary of the board,” said Gappa.

Gappa added that the board meeting dates and times were kept the same.

“The board meeting days were adopted to be the first and third Monday of every month with one exception. The exception is the first Monday in September as it falls on Labor Day. That board meeting will be on the first Tuesday, which I believe is Sept. 3. Board meetings are always held in the board room in the cntral office at 6:30 p.m. CT,” Gappa explained.