91 Indiana Counties Send Property Tax Bills on Time


All Hoosier counties, save one, achieved on-time property tax billing this year.

The Indiana Department of Local Government Finance announced that this was the first time since 2001 that 91 counties have achieved on-time billing. On-time billing allows many of Indiana’s 2,500 local governments to no longer borrow money to keep operations afloat, waiting on unpredictable tax billing and collections.

Property tax bills were mailed April 15, 2013. Property tax statements were due to each county treasurer on May 10 to avoid late fees and penalties. Taxpayers in LaPorte County will receive their tax bills later.

A statewide general reassessment began July 1, 2010 for the 2012-pay-in-2013 property taxes which caused a delay in the distribution of property taxes since 2001.