DNR Names Officer of the Year

Employees with the Department of Natural Resources were recently honored with annual awards.

Jeffrey Richwine, a conservation officer with the District 10 office, was selected as officer of the year in his district. District 10 encompasses the northwestern part of the state that includes Starke, Pulaski and LaPorte counties. That recognition made him eligible to be nominated for officer of the year and a candidate for the Pitzer Award.

The award was ultimately given to officer Dale Clark, who was named officer of the year in District 5. The award is presented in memory of James D. Pitzer, an Indiana Conservation Officer who was killed in the line of duty in 1961.

Clark was voted by his peers to receive the award.