A new policy is in place for Vehicle Identification Number checks at the Starke County Sheriff’s Department.
VIN checks will now be conducted at the sheriff’s department from 8 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. Monday through Friday. You’ll need a police officer inspection form from the Bureau of Motor Vehicles and you can take that form, along with your car, to the sheriff’s department for the check to be performed. No fee will be charged.
Indiana state law requires that you obtain a certificate for all vehicles owned within 60 days of becoming an Indiana resident. Indiana residents must title newly acquired vehicles no later than 31 days from the date of purchase. Police officer inspections, or VIN checks, are required if the vehicle was not previously titled in Indiana.
If you need more information, visit www.in.gov and search VIN inspections.