Local Farms Honored with Hoosier Homestead Award

Five local farms were honored this week alongside 53 other Indiana farming families with the Hoosier Homestead Award in celebration of their 100-year-or-more commitment to Indiana agriculture. Lt. Governor Sue Ellspermann said the state salutes their innovation, determination and dedication that have allowed them to succeed in agriculture for more than a century.

Two farms in LaPorte County were honored, including the sesquicentennial anniversary of the farm of Beverly and Shirley Beaver. John and Alice Zink was honored with the centennial award. In Marshall County, Mary Anne Behmer, Linda Kay Bartlett and John Richared celebrate 150 years of farming in Indiana, and in Pulaski County, Robert M. White celebrates 150 years as well. Lynn Seghetti was honored for 100 years of farming in Starke County.

To be named a Hoosier Homestead, farms must be owned by the same family for more than 100 consecutive years and consist of more than 20 acres or produce more than $1,000 of agricultural products per year. Since the Hoosier Homestead Awards were created in 1976, more than 5,000 Hoosier families have been recognized. Annual celebration ceremonies are held in March and August at the Indiana State Fair.