Starke County 4-H Youth, Adult Volunteers Honored

Several youth and adult volunteers were honored by the Starke County 4-H program as they celebrated the accomplishments of the volunteers from the 2013 program year. Among those honored was Wayne Emigh, who was recognized for his 65 years of dedication and commitment to the program, having most recently served as the electric project leader.

Sarah Gillard was named the Outstanding 4-H Leader for 2013. Gillard, the Shooting Sports leader, was nominated for this award by other 4-H volunteers and 4-H members, and was chosen by a committee of 4-H Extension educators from across the state.

Meanwhile, Katelyn Bejes and Jamie Salkeld were awarded with the Citizenship Award for showing excellence in citizenship. The Leadership Award was given to Kayla Grossman and Erica Pick for exhibiting their leadership skills, and Taylor Kemble and Katherine Back were recognized for their overall achievement in 4-H by receiving the Achievement Award.

The winners of the Electric Awards, Ball Food Preservation Awards, Key Club Awards, and Junior Leaders who completed the project in 2013 were also recognized. The Starke County Junior Leaders also expressed their gratitude to Joshua Johnson and Violet Robertson-Otto for their donation on behalf of Indiana Farm Bureau Insurance.

Several 4-H members were also recognized for their achievements in each project area. The selection of the members was based on their completion of project manuals and record sheets, and was chosen by a committee of 4-H Council members. Those 4-H members receiving awards included: Jamie Salkeld, Haley Hartmann, Ryan Minter, Madeline Hewlett, Elizabeth Krueger, Jakob Huitt, Ashlee McQuarters, Lindsay Brown, Rachel Lenig, Madison Baker, McKenzie McIntire, Cameron Kolasa, Margaret Nagai, Blake Moore, Christopher Rodriguez, Katherine Nagai, Brooklyn Radtke, Danielle Marsh, Hanna Chaffins, Kevin Avery, Hannah Hickman, Mia Mitmoen, Madeline Back, Kayla Bailey, Miranda Neumann, Kayla Grossman, Hannah Shidler, Maddison Shively, Cameron Awald, Jordan Barnhart, Cole Holiday, Kara Howard, Justin Priestas-Stites, Alexander Williams, Cassiday Holiday, Haley Bailey, Katelyn Bejes, Riley Groves, Annika Hines, Elizabeth Krueger, Justice Edgell, Alison Fields, Hope Louderback, Madeline Krueger, Emily Hardin, Kaylee Lenig, Macy Warren, Sandra Chaja, Chance Simmons, and Guy Gainer.