Ty Dillon Gets a New Cowboy Hat at Texas Motor Speedway

Ty Dillon dominated the field as he crossed the finish line in the first position in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series (NCWTS) race at Texas Motor Speedway Friday night. This was his third career win.

Dillon was ready to take the trophy and receive a Texas Motor Speedway special: a cowboy hat and the chance to fire a couple of six-shooters.

“Can’t wait to get that cowboy hat!” Dillon stated in a post-race interview on FoxSports 1. “I won at Texas!”

Only three caution flags flew during competition for 15 laps. An incident involving Brad Keselowski and Justin Lofton brought out the first caution on lap 25. The second caution occurred on lap 60 that involved German Quiroga, Jr. and Brian Silas and the last caution was for oil on the track on lap 100. Kyle Busch’s truck suffered a blown engine which brought out the yellow.

Pole-sitter Jeb Burton fell to 26th place after his truck ran out of gas with less than 10 laps to go after running in the top 15.

Ryan Blaney gave Ty Dillon a run for his money after Blaney was able to wrestle the lead away from Dillon during a restart with less than 50 laps in the race, but Dillon easily passed Blaney after 10 laps to regain the lead, which he never gave up. Blaney kept sliding back in the field and finished in the 15th position.

Johnny Sauter had a good night behind the wheel as he finished in second place and veteran truck series racer Ron Hornaday was third. The rest of the top ten included Brendan Gaughan, Justin Lofton, James Buescher, Darrell Wallace, Jr., Miguel Paludo, John Wes Townley and Matt Crafton.

Crafton holds onto his lead in the championship points and only needs to finish in the top 16 in the last two races to claim the championship. James Buescher is only 46 points behind Crafton in and Ty Dillon is one point behind Buescher in third.

Dillon led 130 of the 147 laps in the Winstar World Casino 350. He is a winner at Texas.

The next NCWTS race is the Lucas Oil 150 at Phoenix International Raceway on Friday, Nov. 8 at 8 p.m. ET.