Representative Dermody Named Legislator of the Year by IPCA

State Representative Tom Dermody
State Representative Tom Dermody
The Indiana Petroleum Marketers and Convenience Store Association honored State Representative Tom Dermody (R-LaPorte) as Legislator of the Year during a ceremony held in Carmel. Scot Imus, IPCA Executive Director, presented the award to Rep. Dermody for working to streamline the collection process for the state’s gasoline sales tax during the 2013 legislative session.

Dermody said it was an honor to receive the award and said he appreciates the bipartisan backing from his colleagues as well as the IPCA’s efforts to support the initiative. He said that previously, the gasoline sales tax collection method was incredibly time-consuming for retailers and the Department of Revenue, requiring repayments and reconciliation, so he sponsored Senate Enrolled Act 479 with the intent to simplify the process as well as reduce the amount of underpayments being made.

According to an IPCA release, members of General Assembly are recognized as Legislator of the Year based on their ability to develop solutions and address concerns impacting the petroleum industry.

Since the previous gasoline sales tax collection method was inefficient and susceptible to under-reporting, Rep. Dermody, alongside author Greg Walker (R-Columbus), sought to address these concerns by creating a new collection method outlined in Senate Enrolled Act 497.