Polling Place Changes Proposed in Pulaski County

The Pulaski County Election Board members and the commissioners recently approved changes to polling places in Pulaski County.

The board members evaluated polling places for ADA compliance and changes were needed as some locations were deemed inaccessible.

Election Board Chairman Jon Frain told WKVI that the consolidations will also save the county money. He stated that the changes should improve the efficiency of the Election Day process.

All four Monroe precincts have been combined and voters will cast ballots at the Pulaski County Highway Garage. Harrison and Indian Creek township precincts will combine with Van Buren Township and voters will vote at Star City Community Building. Voters in Rich Grove and Jefferson precincts will now vote at the Bethel Bible Church Family Center; those in Cass and White Post precincts will vote at the Medaryville Christian Church annex building; and Beaver and Salem Township precinct voters will go to the Francesville Fire Station. No changes have been made to the Franklin and Tippecanoe township precincts.

Frain noted that the voting machines purchased by the county 10 years ago are capable of handling the changes.

Any questions about the changes can be made by calling the Pulaski County clerk’s office at (574) 946-3313.

In other election board news, long-time election board member and former chairman, Orval Podell, Jr. recently resigned from his position. Laura Bailey was named as his replacement on the board.