Races Shape Up As More Candidates File


The latest round of candidate filings for the May primary includes two incumbent Starke County Council members, one of whom already has a potential general election opponent. Republican Anthony “Tony” Radkiewicz, Sr. and Democrat Jennifer Davis are both running for the District 2 County Council seat. Davis is giving up her seat on the county commission to run for the council. District 2 includes part of Center and California Townships. Council President David Pearman has also filed for reelection in council district 3, which runs south through the southern half of Oregon Township through Washington and North Bend Townships. Republican Talia Reed has also filed her candidacy for the Starke County Council District I seat. It includes the rest of Center and Oregon Townships along with the Davis and Jackson precincts.

So far Democrats Nancy Dembowski and Donald Binkley have qualified to run for the open county commissioners seat.

In Pulaski County, two Republicans are running for the commissioner district 2 seat currently held by Republican Tracey Shorter. Bud Krohn, Jr. will face councilwoman Alex Haschel in the May 6 primary. Former two-term sheriff and county commissioner Paul Grandstaff has also filed the necessary paperwork to run for sheriff as a Democrat. So far former conservation officer Jeff Richwine is the lone Republican sheriff’s candidate in Pulaski County, where incumbent Sheriff Mike Gayer is retiring due to term limits.

Winamac attorney Daniel P. Murphy has filed his candidacy for prosecuting attorney with the secretary of state’s office. He’s running on the Republican ticket for the seat currently held by Stacey Mrak.
A complete list of candidates who have filed as of Friday, Jan. 17 is below. Candidates have until Friday, Feb. 7 at noon to file. WKVI news will update the list each Monday.

Starke County Candidates for Countywide Offices
Clerk of the Circuit Court – Vicki Cooley (D)
Auditor – *Katherine Chaffins (D)
Recorder – *Lisa Liedtky Minix (D)
Sheriff – Gregory Wireman (R);William Bope (R); Harold Smith (D)
Coroner – Dannie Hoffer (D)
Starke County Commissioner District 2 – Nancy J. Dembowski (D); Donald Binkley (D)
Starke County Council District I – Talia Reed (R)
Starke County Council District 2 – Jennifer Davis (D); *Anthony “Tony” Radkiewicz Sr. (R)
Starke County Council District 3 – *David Pearman (R)
* Denotes Incumbent

Township Trustee
Center Twp. Trustee – *Julie Manns (D)
North Bend Twp. Trustee – Rutherford Byron Walters (D)
Oregon Twp. Trustee – *Mark Allen (D)
Railroad Twp. Trustee – *Roger Chaffins, Sr. (D)
Wayne Twp. Trustee – *Clara Schacht (D)

Washington Twp. Trustee – Terri Noonan (D)

* Denotes Incumbent

Township Advisory Boards (3 members per township)
California Twp Advisory Board – *Harrison Fields (D)
Center Twp. Advisory Board – *Ben Warren (D)
North Bend Twp Advisory Board – *Paul M. Sellers (D)
Oregon Twp Advisory Board – *Paul R Cleveland (D); *Carole Noble (D)
Railroad Twp Advisory Board – *August K. Eckert II (D)
Wayne Twp Advisory Board – *Tom Griffo (D)
* Denotes Incumbent

Pulaski County Candidates for Countywide Offices
Prosecuting Attorney – Daniel P. Murphy (R)
*Clerk of the Circuit Court – Tasha Foerg (R)
*County Assessor – Lorena H. “Holly” VanDerAa (R)
County Coroner – *Steven VanDerAa (R); Tracy Rossman-Bryson (R)
County Sheriff – Jeffery K. Richwine (R); Paul Grandstaff (D)
Pulaski County Commissioner District 3 – Bud Krohn, Jr. (R); Alex Haschel (R)
* Denotes Incumbent

Township Trustee
Monroe Twp. Trustee – Larry J. Winter (D)
White Post Twp. Trustee – Karen S. Wagner (R)

Township Advisory Boards (3 members per township)
White Post Twp. – Sandra L. Beiswanger (D); Jerry L. Beiswanger (D)

Democratic Precinct Committeeman
Larry J. Winter

Republican State Convention Delegates
Samuel Frain; Joni R. Frain