More Candidates File as Deadline Nears


Candidates running for office in the May 6 primary have until Friday at noon to file their intention to seek office with the clerk of the circuit court in the county in which they are running. Several county-wide offices as well as township-level positions are on the ballot.

Voters in both Starke and Pulaski Counties will elect new sheriffs, as Oscar Cowen and Mike Gayer are both unable to run again due to term limits. So far two Democrats and two Republicans are vying for Cowen’s job. Deputy William “Bill” Dulin and Harold Smith are running on the Democratic ticket, and Billy Bope and Greg Wireman have filed as Republicans.

In Pulaski County, Gayer’s last primary opponent is the latest to file his candidacy for that office. Brian Gaillard is the town marshal in Medaryville and works for the Winamac Police Department. He and Jeff Richwine, who recently retired from his conservation officer position with the DNR, are both running on the Republican ticket for Pulaski County Sheriff. Deputy Paul Grandstaff, who served two terms as sheriff followed by one term as a county commissioner, is running on the Democratic ticket. So far he’s unopposed.
One other candidate for county-wide office has filed in Pulaski County, according to the latest list shared with WKVI News Friday morning. Incumbent surveyor Jenny Weaver-Keller is so far running unopposed as a Democrat for that position.

A complete list of candidates who have filed as of Friday, Jan. 24 is below. Candidates have until Friday, Feb. 7 at noon to file. WKVI news will update the list each Monday.

Starke County Candidates for Countywide Offices
Prosecuting Attorney – *Nicholas Allen Bourff (D)
Clerk of the Circuit Court – Vicki Cooley (D)
Assessor – *Rhonda Milner (D)
Auditor – *Katherine Chaffins (D)
Recorder – *Lisa Liedtky Minix (D)
Sheriff – Gregory Wireman (R);William Bope (R); Harold Smith (D); William “Bill” Dulin (D)
Coroner – Dannie Hoffer (D)
Starke County Commissioner District 2 – Nancy J. Dembowski (D); Donald Binkley (D)

County Council

Starke County Council District I – Talia Reed (R)
Starke County Council District 2 – Jennifer Davis (D); *Anthony “Tony” Radkiewicz Sr. (R)
Starke County Council District 3 – *David Pearman (R)
* Denotes Incumbent


Township Trustee
Center Twp. Trustee – *Julie Manns (D)
North Bend Twp. Trustee – Rutherford Byron Walters (R)
Oregon Twp. Trustee – *Mark Allen (D)
Railroad Twp. Trustee – *Roger Chaffins, Sr. (D)
Wayne Twp. Trustee – *Clara Schacht (D); Timothy Stites (D)
Washington Twp. Trustee – Terri Noonan (D)
* Denotes Incumbent


Township Advisory Boards (3 members per township)
California Twp Advisory Board – *Harrison Fields (D); *Michelle Albon (R); Phillip Cherry (R)
Center Twp. Advisory Board – *Ben Warren (D); Diana Koenig (R); Bertha Blue (D); Steve Berndt (D)
North Bend Twp Advisory Board – *Paul M. Sellers (D); Samuel J. Bailey (R)
Oregon Twp Advisory Board – *Paul R Cleveland (D); *Carole Noble (D)
Railroad Twp Advisory Board – *August K. Eckert II (D); Mike Lawecki (R); Clarence Gehrke (R)
Washington Twp. Advisory Board – Patricia Zobrist (R)Wayne Twp Advisory Board – *Tom Griffo (D); Joe Griffo (D); Marilynn Pacilio (D)
* Denotes Incumbent


Pulaski County Candidates for Countywide Offices
Prosecuting Attorney – Daniel P. Murphy (R); Blair Todd (R)
Clerk of the Circuit Court – *Tasha Foerg (R)
County Assessor – *Lorena H. “Holly” VanDerAa (R)
County Coroner – *Steven VanDerAa (R); Tracy Rossman-Bryson (R)
County Sheriff – Jeffery K. Richwine (R); Paul Grandstaff (D); Brian Gaillard (R)

County Surveyor – *Jenny Weaver-Keller (D)
Pulaski County Commissioner District 3 – Bud Krohn, Jr. (R); Alex Haschel (R)
* Denotes Incumbent


County Council

Pulaski County Council District 4 – * Michael D. “Mick” Tiede ®


Township Trustee
Cass Twp. Trustee – Elaine Parish (R)

Harrison Twp. Trustee – Betty Stinemetz (R)

Indian Creek Twp. Trustee – Craig Allen (R)

Monroe Twp. Trustee – Larry J. Winter (D)

Van Buren Twp. Trustee – Lenora K. Hoover (R)
White Post Twp. Trustee – Karen S. Wagner (R)


Township Advisory Boards (3 members per township)
Franklin Twp. – Rita Hilderbrandt (D); Greg Hilderbrandt (D)

Harrison Twp. – Christopher Graves (R); Jacqueline Pugh (R)

Indian Creek Twp. – David Weaver (D)

Monroe Twp.- Timothy “Tim” Hoffa, Jr. (R)

Monroe 2 – Marcia Lynn Link (D)

Salem Twp. – Maurice A. Kopka (D)

White Post Twp. – Sandra L. Beiswanger (D); Jerry L. Beiswanger (D); Richard Brick (R); Patricia L. Tiede (R)

Van Buren Twp. – Scott Hinkle (R)

Monroe 4 Precinct Committeeman – Larry J. Winter (D)


Republican State Convention Delegates
Kenneth R. Boswell; Samuel Frain; Joni R. Frain; Emily K. Hizer; Brian M. Young