New Crew Chief Named for Dale Earnhardt Jr.’s Team

nscs14_88A crew chief for a popular driver in the NASCAR Nationwide Series will be headed to the Sprint Cup level in 2015.

Greg Ives will be the crew chief for Dale Earnhardt, Jr.’s No. 88 team in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series in 2015.

It was announced at the beginning of this year’s season that Steve Letarte would be leaving as Dale Jr.’s crew chief at the end of 2014 to be an analyst for NBC when NASCAR coverage moves to that affiliate in 2015.

Ives works in the JR  Motorsports organization and he is the current crew chief for the No. 9 NAPA Auto Parts team and points leader Chase Elliott in the NASCAR Nationwide Series. This is Elliott’s rookie season.

Ives was named Elliott’s crew chief at the beginning of 2014. Ives spent time as the crew chief for Regan Smith in the Nationwide series in 2013 and previously spent nine years at Hendrick Motorsports. He was a race engineer during Jimmie Johnson’s five consecutive championships from 2006 to 2010.