Farmers Urged to Apply for Loans to Cover Losses

Crop lossFarmers are urged to get their applications in as soon as possible for loans to cover losses caused by flooding that started in May of this year.

Starke, Pulaski, Jasper and LaPorte Counties have been designated primary disaster counties by the U.S. Department of Agriculture. Applications are due by April 12, 2016. Farmers who lost at least 30 percent of production due to excessive rain and who are unable to get financing from conventional lenders may qualify for an emergency loan. Visit for county contact information.