Starke County Election Board Finalizes Ballots


The ballots are set for the Nov. 3 General Elections in Starke County. Voters in the towns of North Judson and Hamlet will elect clerk-treasurers. In North Judson, Republican incumbent Donna Henry has drawn a challenge from Democrat Alicia (Amidei) Collins. North Judson voters will also choose between incumbent Republican Wendy Hoppe and Democrat Joan Haugh for the Ward 2 town council seat. Democrat Ward 1 incumbent Jane Ellen Felchuk and Republican Ward 3 candidate Nathan Bradley are both unopposed.

Democrat Hamlet Clerk-Treasurer Kristina Pitts drew a challenge from Republican Betty Barnett. Incumbent Republican Councilman Dave Kesvormas, Sr. will face Demcorat Dean Goble in the November contest. Ward 1 Democratic incumbent Brian J. Earnest is unopposed, as is Democrat Connie J. Bailey. She’s seeking the Ward 3 seat and beat incumbent Frank Lonigro, Sr. last month’s town caucus.

Knox voters will decide the outcome of one contested race. Republican Anthony (Tony) Radkiewicz, Sr. and Democrat Tim Manns are vying for the seat currently held by Greg Matt. He lost to Manns in the May primary. Other names on the Knox ballot include Democrat Dennis Estok for mayor. He’s unopposed in the general election after defeating incumbent Rick Chambers in May. Incumbent Councilmen Ron Parker, Don Kring and Jeff Berg are also unopposed, as is Knox Clerk-Treasurer Jeff Houston. Democrat Bertha Blue is the only candidate for the Knox council-at-large seat, and Republican City Court Judge Charles Hasnerl is also unopposed.

Voters who live within the North Judson-San Pierre School District will also decide whether property taxes should be raised in order to fund the school’s general fund operating budget. The district includes Wayne, Railroad and Jackson Townships and California Township Precinct 2 in Starke County as well as Rich Grove and Cass Townships in Pulaski County.

Click Starke County General Election 2015 Ballots  to see a copy of the ballots.