Races Taking Shape in Pulaski County


The latest round of candidate filings in Pulaski County sets up a general election contest for a county-wide seat.

Former Medaryville Town Council President Derrick Stalbaum has filed as a Democrat for the Pulaski County Commissioners District 1 seat. It’s currently held by Republican Terry Young, who is also seeking another term. Stalbaum resigned from the Medaryville Council when he moved out of the town limits.

Incumbent Republican District 2 Commissioner Larry Brady also filed his candidacy for reelection last week.

Other filings for seats that will appear on the May ballot include Judith I. Heater for Monroe Township Ward 2 precinct committee, Patricia L. Tiede for White Post Township Precinct Committee, John E. Plowman for Democratic Convention Delegate and Herbert “Herb” Cook for Republican Convention delegate.

Candidates for countywide office have until Friday, Feb. 5 at noon to file.


Winamac Town Council seats are not on the May ballot, but a few candidates have already filed. James “Jim” W. Watkins is seeking the Ward 1 seat, and Heater is running for reelection in Ward 2.