Filing Deadline Brings Competitive Pulaski County Races


Several contested primary and a few general election races have cropped up in Pulaski County. Friday was the last day for candidates for county-wide elected office to file. Incumbent District 1 Commissioner Terry Young has drawn several primary opponents. Jerome C. (Jerry) Locke and Kenneth (Ken) Dunn are both running on the Republican ticket, setting up a three-way GOP primary. The winner will face a general election challenge from Democrat Derrick Stalbaum.

Incumbent District 2 Commissioner Larry Brady will face a May challenge from former Pulaski County Highway Superintendent Kenny Becker. No Democrat has filed for that seat.

Incumbent Pulaski County Council President Jerry (Jay) Sullivan, Jr. is one of several Republican council-at-large candidates. Others include Scott Hinkle, former commissioner Kenneth R. Boswell, Brian M. Young, and John C. Haley.

A pair of Republican candidates are running for auditor, as incumbent Shelia Garling is term limited in that position. Auditor candidates are Laura M. Wheeler and JoLynn Behny. Garling is running as a Democrat for recorder and will face incumbent Republican Sue Fox in November.

Incumbent Treasurer Lynnette Wilder is the only candidate for that office.

Several precinct committee and convention delegate candidates have also filed.

Precinct committeeman candidates: Elaine Parish (R), Cass; Kenneth R. Boswell (R) and Brian M. Young (R), Franklin; Betty L. Stinemetz, (R), Harrison; Teresa L. Bryant, (R), Indian Creek; Betty L. Kruger, (R), and John A. Fritz, (R), Jefferson; Christina L. Hoffa, (R), Monroe 1; Judith I. Heater, (R), Monroe 2; Lorena (Holly) VanDerAa, (R), Monroe 3; Justin A. Schramm, (R), Monroe 4; Linda S. Bennett (R), Salem; Douglas L. Klausing (R), Tippecanoe; Lenora Hoover, (R), Van Buren; and Patricia L. Tiede (R), White Post.

Republican convention delegate candidates: Brian M. Young, Emily K. Hizer, Herbert Cook (Herb), Patrica L. Tiede, Michael D. (Mick) Tiede, Douglas L. Gutwein, Daniel P. Murphy, Blair Todd, Chelsea Todd and Crystal A. Brucker Kocher

Democrat convention delegate: John E. Plowman.