Additional Candidates File in Starke County


Friday’s candidate filing deadline brought a flurry of activity in Starke County. A total of six Democrats are seeking their party’s nomination for the Commissioner District 3 seat held by Republican Kent Danford. He is not running again. Candidates include Karen Tibbs, Anthony R. Bailey, Robert G. Manning, Tony Minix, Kenneth Arnett and Joseph Woods. The winner will face Republican Charles Chesak in November.

Republican District 1 Commissioner Kathy Norem will have a general election opponent. Democrats Pete J. (Buddy) Ringle, Jr. and Lonnie Boley will face off in May’s primary.

So will Democrat surveyor candidates Bill Crase, Jr. and Rusty Poort. Incumbent Treasurer Kasey Clark has drawn a general election challenge from Republican Timothy P. (Tim) Brettin.

All three incumbent council-at-large members will be on November’s ballot. Republican Bryan Cavender and Democrats Freddie Baker and Bob Sims will be joined by Democrat G. “Al” Barrera. The three who get the most votes will be seated for four-year terms.

Several Republican precinct committeemen and state convention delegate candidates have also filed.

Precinct Committeemen candidates: Jacqueline Masterson, Center 1; Dave V. Kesvormas and Larry Jernas, Davis; Rutherford Byron Walters, North Bend; Roy McCray, Oregon 1; Peggy J. (Peg) Brettin, Washington 2; C. Jerome (Jerry) Jernas, Wayne 1; Brenda Stanojevic, Wayne 2; Don White and Gregory Wireman, Wayne 3.

State Convention Delegate candidates: Jacqueline Masterson, at-large, Center 1; Dave V. Kesvormas, at-large, Davis; Bernadette Welter-Manuel, at-large, Washington 2; Brenda Stanojevic, at-large, Wayne 2; Gregory Wireman, at-large, Wayne 3; Christopher Lee, at-large, Wayne 4.