Travel Warnings in Effect for Several Counties

Indiana-Department-of-Homeland-SecurityLaPorte, Marshall and Fulton Counties have upgraded to travel warnings. The “red level” is the highest level of local travel advisory. It means travel may be restricted to emergency management workers only.

Individuals are directed to refrain from all travel, comply with necessary emergency measures, cooperate with public officials and disaster service forces in executing emergency operations plans and obey and comply with the lawful directions of properly identified officers. Lake, Porter, Jasper, Newton and White Counties are also under travel warnings.

Starke, Pulaski and St. Joseph Counties are still under orange level travel watches. That means only essential travel, such as to and from work or in emergency situations, is recommended.

Schools throughout the area are closed. So are a number of businesses. All of that information is on our closings and delays page, and we will share it throughout the morning on the air.