Lilly Endowment Community Scholars Announced


Students from North Judson-San Pierre and Winamac Community high schools are recipients of the 2016 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship. Kyle Collins was nominated by the Community Foundation of Pulaski County, while Nicholas Sierzputowski was the Starke County Community Foundation’s nominee. Each of them will receive a four-year, full tuition scholarship to the Indiana College of their choice, as well as a $900 yearly stipend for books and equipment.

Kyle CollinsDuring Collins’ time at Winamac Community High School, he has served on the Student Council as Class President and has also been involved with the track and cross county teams, National Honor Society, Drama Club, and Fellowship of Christian Athletes. According to the Community Foundation of Pulaski County, Collins plans to study Finance and Marketing at Indiana State University.

Meanwhile, Sierzputowski has been involved with Academic Decathlon, Academic Super Bowl, Academic Spell Bowl, the National Honor Society, and the tennis team at North Judson-San Pierre High School. He plans to pursue a degree in chemistry, according to the Starke County Community Foundation.

Nick-Sierzputowski_webThe Lilly Scholarship program is run by the Independent Colleges of Indiana, on behalf of the Lilly Endowment. The program aims to increase the percentage of Hoosiers who receive a college degree. This year, 142 scholarships were awarded as part of the statewide program.

Collins and Sierzputowski were nominated by their county’s community foundation, following an application and interview process. Independent Colleges of Indiana then made the final selections.