Starke County Council Reorganizes, Makes Appointments

David Pearman

After serving five years as the Starke County Council President, Mark Smith announced before yesterday’s reorganization meeting that he would not stand for reelection. David Pearman was elected the President and Mitch Semans the Vice President. Attorney Martin Lucas was retained as the council attorney.

In appointments:
Mitch Semans accepted both the Starke County Economic Development position and the Council’s seat on the Kankakee-Iroquois Regional Planning Commission.
Tony Radkiewicz was named to the Solid Waste Board.
Judy Benninghoff remained on the Planning Commission.
Ken Wallace was reappointed to the Alcohol Beverage Commission Board.