28 Indiana Schools Receive Excellence Award

Dr. Tony Bennett

School corporations across Indiana will receive a total of $6 million to recognize and award their best teachers. State Superintendent of Public Instruction Dr. Tony Bennett announced that 28 recipients will receive Indiana’s “Excellence in Performance for Teachers” award.

“The real root and the soul of this grant was to recognize and reward the most important asset in our schools and those are great people who touch the hearts and the souls and the minds of children, and put their lives on course to be our next leaders,” said Dr. Bennett.

The grant was established by the Indiana General Assembly during the 2011 legislative session in an effort to help school corporations and charter schools recruit and retain effective teachers.

The Oregon-Davis School Corporation will receive $27,192 for incentives while the Fort Wayne Community School Corporation received the most money with $1.6 million. The Bremen Public School was another school in the area that will receive money. That school corporation will get $101,000.