More Counties Added to Disaster Declaration

Crop lossFulton and White Counties are among eight in Indiana in which a secretarial disaster declaration has been approved by the U.S. Department of Agriculture. That means farmers can get low-interest emergency loans for crop damage and losses caused by rain and flooding since May 1.

The approval comes after Gov. Mike Pence, Lt. Gov. Sue Ellsperman, and Indiana Farm Service Agency Executive Director Julia A. Wickard wrote a letter requesting the designation to Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack in August.

These counties join 53 others in the state that had already been approved on August 12. Those included Starke, Pulaski, Marshall and LaPorte.

Farmers wishing to apply for loans can visit or contact their local FSA offices for details. More information about loan uses can be found here.