September is National Recovery Month

September is recognized as National Recovery Month. It’s a time where we come together to congratulate those who have overcome their addictions and to recognize the achievements of people currently working toward sobriety. It’s also meant to promote the societal benefits of prevention, treatment and recovery for substance use and mental health disorders.

The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) with the United States Department of Health and Human Services is behind this initiative. Continue reading

Secretary of Family and Social Services Administration Serves as Keynote Speaker at Opioid Study Presentation

Dr. Jennifer Walthall

The Healthcare Foundation of La Porte (HFL) hosted a presentation over the La Porte County Opioid Study at the Dworkin Student Services and Activities Complex at Purdue Northwest’s Westville campus on Thursday morning.

The study was commissioned by the HFL through the Center for Health Policy at the Indiana University Richard M. Fairbanks School of Public Health. And while researchers conducted this particular study for La Porte County, the opioid epidemic extends beyond county lines, as it unfortunately impacts the lives of people across the state, the nation and the globe.

At Thursday’s presentation, the keynote speaker was Dr. Jennifer Walthall, the Secretary of Family and Social Services Administration of Indiana. She emphasized the steps that are being taken to directly combat the crisis here in the state. Continue reading

Personality-Based Substance Abuse Prevention Program Coming to Knox, Oregon-Davis High Schools

Preventing substance abuse by identifying those who are most at risk before they develop an addiction is the goal of a program coming to two Starke County high schools. This week, the Knox and Oregon-Davis school boards learned about the PreVenture program. Indianapolis-based nonprofit Overdose Lifeline received funding from the Division of Mental Health and Addiction to offer the program in seven Indiana counties, including Starke, Pulaski, and LaPorte.

Continue reading