New Welfare System to be Implemented in 13 Counties Today

Starke County will be rolling out a new welfare application process today. Starke is one of 13 counties that will begin automating part of the process. This means it will be expanding into areas still operating only with paper intensive, face-to-face contact between case workers and clients receiving food stamps, Medicaid and other benefits.

The 13 counties switching to the hybrid system today include Pulaski, Starke, Jasper, Fulton, Marshall, St. Joseph, Elkhart, Benton, LaGrange, Lake, and LaPorte, Porter, and Newton.