Culver Community Schools Still Considering Deannexation Petition

Culver Community School Board
Culver Community School Board Members (from left, clockwise): Jack Jones, Ryan Seiber, Marilyn Swanson, Brad Schuldt, Eugene Baker, Jim Wentzel, Ed Behnke, Ken VanDePutte

An update on the petition requesting deannexation of Tippecanoe Township from the Culver Community School Corporation was requested by Monterey Town Board President Jim Fleury this week. Fleury asked the board when they expected to have a decision regarding the petition, which he says has accumulated over 640 signatures.

With a total of 840 landowners, 640 signatures represent a large majority of residents in Tippecanoe Township, and Fleury says he feels like that sends a message.

School Board President Jack Wentzel told Fleury that the board has been discussing the petition with their legal counsel, Harold Wyland, but no official action is necessary yet. Wentzel said that because of the number of statutes involved in the process of deannexation, they would need to have further discussion with their counsel.

The petition requests deannexation from the Culver School Corporation with the hope of being annexed into the Eastern Pulaski School Corporation.