Starke County Community Foundation Scholarships Available

The Starke County Community Foundation is announcing three new scholarship opportunities for high school seniors. Added this year are the Altman Family Scholarship for students at North Judson-San Pierre High School, the James and Carris Lucas Scholarship for Knox High School students, and the Physicians Hospital System Visionary Scholarship which will provide one scholarship for a Starke County student and also one for a Marshall County student.

Many scholarships bear familiar local names such as Brooklyn Boo, La Vergne Brown, Lois Spenner, the Cunningham Family, Helen and Ware Edgar, Richard H. Gumz, Runkle Family, Eleanor Hamblin, Nella Kersting, Clarence Lawrence, Ken Lucas, Megan Sahlhoff, Winifred Simpkins, IU Health Starke Hospital, Toth Family, Christine and David Van Vactor, Charley Vorm, Knox VFW Post #748, and Robert and Doris Winters. Don’t forget the WKVI-Ed Hasnerl scholarship.

Applications and instructions can be found online and at all area high school guidance departments, including Marshall County High Schools. The deadline is March 12th.

Those with scholarship questions or for more information about the Community Foundation should contact Alison Heyde, Scholarship Coordinator for the Northern Indiana Community Foundation, toll-free at 1-877-432-6423.