Public Meeting Held Regarding Five-Member North Judson Town Board

North Judson Town Board

The public meeting regarding the transition of the North Judson Town Board from a three-member board to a five-member board was held Thursday, providing information regarding the transition to all those in attendance. Council President Wendy Hoppe and Councilman Tim Cummins were present, along with Clerk-Treasurer Donna Henry, Starke County Clerk Evelyn Skronski, IACT Field Services Manager Tim Bredeweg, and a number of community members were present as well.

Clerk-Treasurer Donna Henry says Cummins explained the Indiana Code regarding the process to change the number of legislative body members, and Bredeweg went over the steps involved to make that change. The first step, Henry said, is for the council to hold a discussion and approve a motion to pursue the transition, which has already been done. A resolution for approval will be written at the next council meeting, and will then be sent to the Starke County Clerk with a request for the resolution to be placed on a referendum in the Fall General Election.

If the referendum passes, an ordinance will be written to increase the number of board members from three to five. In addition, Henry says the council is discussing the establishment of staggered terms for the council members to ensure there is always an experienced council member each term. If approved, new council members would take office January 1st, 2013, and they would be appointed by the current council.

Photo caption: Front Row: Clerk-Treasurer Donna Henry, Board members Ralph T. Cummins, Wendy Hoppe, and Jane Ellen Felchuk, Attorney Cassandra Hine.  Back Row: Town Marshal Doug Vessely, Fire Chief Joe Leszek and Town Superintendent Marshall Horstmann.  Photo by Town Photographer Peggy Bohac