La Porte Officials Remind Residents That A Burn Ban Is In Effect

A burn ban has been in effect in La Porte County since June 15, a fact that La Porte City Fire Chief Andy Snyder and City Police Chief Adam Klimczak say is due to dry conditions that have created a threat to the lives and property of the people of La Porte County. The ban will remain in effect until further notice.

While the ban is in effect, residents are prohibited from lighting campfires, bonfires, and unpermitted controlled burns. This includes the burning of yard waste as well as construction and organic debris, and the lighting of fireworks is also prohibited. The ban also prohibits the discarding of unextinguished, smoking materials of any kind on the ground or anywhere not within an enclosed fireproof receptacle.

Snyder and Klimczak request that all citizens comply with the necessary emergency measures, and cooperate with both public officials and emergency personnel. They encourage citizens to contact the La Porte City Fire Department at (219) 362-3456 or the La Porte City Police Department at (219) 362-9446 with any questions.

Burn restrictions are also still in place for Marshall, Starke, and Pulaski counties.