Pulaski County Voters Narrow Sheriff’s Field, Nominate GOP Prosecuting Attorney

 Pulaski County voters overwhelmingly supported a first-time candidate and two people who have previously held the offices they are seeking. Former state conservation officer Jeff Richwine was the runaway winner in the Republican sheriff’s primary. He got 1,064 votes to Brian Gaillard’s 444. Jeff Heims finished third with 323. Richwine will face former two-term sheriff Paul Grandstaff in the Nov. 4 General Election. He got 446 votes, and his challenger Jeff Jenkins pulled in 126. Grandstaff also served four years as a county commissioner after his term as sheriff ended.

Former prosecutor Daniel P. Murphy won the GOP nomination for that office with 1,184 votes to deputy prosecutor Blair Todd’s 622. Incumbent Stacey Mrak did not run for reelection. Neither did commissioner Tracey Shorter, who beat Grandstaff in the 2010 General Election. Bud Krohn, Jr. edged councilwoman Alex Haschel for the GOP nomination for the open seat on the county commission. Coroner Steve VanDerAa survived a challenge from Tracy Rossman-Bryson. Neither Krohn nor VanDerAa have opponents yet in the general election.

Republican voters in the third county council district favored Pam Chumley over Brian Young. She will face Democrat Linda Powers in November. She’s running for the seat her father, Ron Powers, is giving up.