Starke County Races Draw Considerable Interest


A couple of competitive primary races have taken shape in Starke County. As of Friday afternoon, four Democrats and one Republican have filed for the Commissioner District 3 seat. It’s currently held by Republican Kent Danford.

Candidates must live in Jackson, Wayne or Railroad Township but are elected county-wide. Democrats Karen Tibbs, Anthony Bailey, Robert G. Manning and Tony Minix are vying for the nomination. So far Charles Chesak is the only Republican seeking that seat.

Incumbent District 1 Commissioner Kathy Norem is running again on the Republican ticket. So far Pete J. “Buddy” Ringle, Jr. is the only Democrat to file for the seat. District 1 candidates must live in Oregon, North Bend or Washington Townships.

A second candidate has filed for surveyor. Democrat Bill Crase, Jr. is filling the remaining year of Knox Mayor Dennis Estok’s term and previously filed for the seat. Last week fellow Democrat Rusty Poort declared his candidacy as well.

Incumbent Treasurer Kasey Clark remains unopposed. So far only incumbent councilmen Freddie Baker, Bryan Cavender and Bob Sims have filed for the three council-at-large seats.

Several Republican state convention delegate and precinct committee candidates have filed as well. Click 2016 Republican Precinct Committeeman for that list.

Prospective candidates have until Friday, Feb. 5 at noon to file their paperwork in the Starke County Clerk’s office.