Starke, Pulaski, Marshall Counties Included in Governor’s Disaster Emergency Declaration


Pulaski County was added to the state’s disaster emergency declaration Tuesday, in response to recent flooding. So far, Governor Eric Holcomb has declared a disaster emergency in 22 Indiana counties, including Starke, Marshall, St. Joseph, Fulton, and Jasper, as well as Pulaski.

The emergency declaration allows the Indiana Department of Homeland Security to provide expanded emergency services, according to state officials. It’s also a required step in the process of requesting federal assistance.

A State Emergency Operations Center was activated last week. State officials say it’s helped coordinate the delivery of sandbags, water pumps, equipment, and labor crews.

Hoosiers are reminded to report any weather-related damage to the Indiana Department of Homeland Security.