New Culver Town Council Members Seated

The Culver Town Council has some new faces but the same president in 2019. Council members met for the first time this year Tuesday. It was the first meeting for members Bill Githens and Bill Cleavenger since their election in November and the second meeting for member Rich West, after he filled Tammy Shaffer’s seat last month. The town council voted to retain Ginny Bess Munroe as council president and chose Githens to serve as vice-president for the year.

A number of board and commission appointments were approved. Council members appointed Tom Yuhas and Sally Ricciardi to the Culver Redevelopment Commission, Marty Oosterbaan to the Marshall County Economic Development Corporation Board of Directors, and Paul Liette to the Culver-Union Township Public Library Board. Meanwhile, Munroe appointed Chester Gut to the plan commission; Barry McManaway and Leigh Marshall to the board of zoning appeals; and Rich West, Sue McInturff, and Paul deBenedictis to the redevelopment commission.

Council members also renewed their contract with Town Attorney Jim Clevenger.