Daylight Saving Time Begins Sunday, March 13th

Daylight Saving Time begins this Sunday, March 13th, which means everyone will move their clocks ahead one hour. Clocks may be moved at bedtime Saturday night or at 2:00 a.m. prevailing time Sunday morning.

The purpose of Daylight Saving Time is to extend daylight by an hour in the afternoons during spring, summer and much of the fall. While Indiana observes Daylight Saving Time, the state remains divided in telling time. 80 of the 92 counties use Eastern Time while the other 12 use Central Time. Arizona and Hawaii use Standard Time year round.