Hoosier Homesteads To Be Recognized At State Fair Today

Seventy-five families will be presented with the Hoosier Homestead Award this morning at 10:30 a.m. ET at the Indiana State Fair.

To be named a Hoosier Homestead, farms must be owned by the same family for more than 100 consecutive years and consist of 20 acres or more or produce at least $1,000 worth of agricultural products per year. The award was created to recognize the contribution these family farms have made to the economic, cultural and social advancements of Indiana.

The Busch (1887), Day (1909), Harriet E. Kyzyzanowski (1904), and the Rawn/Bowers/Miller (1904) farms in Pulaski County will be honored with the award, along with the Kline (1859) and Snyder (1911) farms in Marshall County. In LaPorte County, representatives from the Dr. William H. & Matilda Fritz Cromey (1895) farm and the Haack (1869) farm will also receive the Hoosier Homestead Award.

Of the 75 Hoosier Homestead recipients, 46 will receive the Centennial Award for keeping their farm in their family for more than 100 years and 29 will receive the Sesquicentennial Award for more than 150 years.