Culver Joins Disaster Declaration for Marshall County

The Culver Town Council members acknowledged Culver’s inclusion in Marshall County’s designation in a disaster declaration for flooding. Any residents experiencing flood damage are encouraged to call 2-1-1 or the Marshall County Emergency Management Agency at 574-936-3740. All damage is to be reported for a better chance of receiving federal assistance for repairs and recovery.

Continue reading

USDA Approves State’s Request for Secretarial Disaster Declaration

Crop lossFarmers throughout the state who suffered crop losses due to excessive rainfall can apply for low-interest emergency loans from the federal government. The U.S. Department of Agriculture yesterday approved a secretarial disaster declaration for 53 of Indiana’s 92 counties. Gov. Mike Pence, Lt. Gov. Sue Ellsperman and Indiana Farm Service Agency Executive Director Julia A. Wickard made the request in late July after farmers suffered significant crop damage and losses as a result of flooding and excessive rain that started May 1st. Continue reading

Starke County Named in Disaster Declaration

Flooding occurred after a levee break on the Robbins Ditch. Photo by Becky Pulver.

Governor Mitch Daniels has issued a disaster emergency for 34 counties due to severe weather that caused widespread damage to homes, businesses and public property beginning April 18th.

Affected counties experienced flooding, damaged roads, downed power lines and other severe damage. The Executive Order includes Starke County, which is the only county in the northern part of the state to be included. Starke County EMA Director, Ted Bombagetti, told WKVI that the levee break on the Robbins Ditch was included in the claim along with a levee break by the Kankakee Fish and Wildlife area outside of North Judson.

Continue reading