Chicken Supporters Meet with North Judson Town Council, As Animal Ordinance Review Continues

North Judson’s chickens will be allowed to stay for at least a while longer, as the town continues to review its animal ordinance. Residents filled North Judson Town Hall Monday, as chicken owner Sarah Burkett spoke out against the town council’s decision to more strictly enforce the ordinance. It currently prohibits residents from keeping chickens and other farm animals.

Continue reading

Kankakee Valley REMC Shows Support for the Starke County Fair with a Generous Donation

2014 Starke Co. Fair (2) (2)
KVREMC Communications&Marketing Director Amanda Steeb presents a donation check to Starke County fair board members, Roger Ferch and Ed Troike.

Kankakee Valley REMC is committed to serving their community. They provide electric services to approximately 18,000 individuals in Starke, Pulaski, Porter, Lake, Marshall, St. Joseph and La Porte counties.

Continue reading

Candidate Signs Displayed Several Months Before Primary Election

Next year is looking to be a big election year and some candidates have already post campaign signs looking for your vote in the May 6, 2014 election.

Starke County Clerk stated that the campaign signs can be displayed as long as the proper paperwork has been filed in her office. She said the candidate may campaign using signs or any other kind of advertising use he or she may desire in using to collect favorable votes.

Some signs have been posted around the Starke County Fair for Bill Dulin, Harold Smith and Greg Wireman who have displayed their intentions to run for their party’s nominee for Starke County sheriff in the Primary Election in May.

Candidates Named for 4-H Achievement Royalty

4-H Achievement Royalty candidates have been selected for the Pulaski and Starke County fairs.

Eight candidates have qualified for the Pulaski County Achievement Royalty. The program will be held on Saturday, June 29 at 3 p.m. ET at the Entertainment Stage. Dustin Dahn, Brooke Daugherty, Brandon Dickson, Kohl Hoover, Eric Newman, David Putt, Kaitlyn Rumsey, and Walker Wank.

The Achievement Royalty candidates in Starke County include Rachel Lenig, Taylor Kemble, Kamie Salkeld, Katie Back, Kayla Bailey, Katelyn Surfus, Kayla Grossman, Natalie Radtke, and Erica Pick. Royalty will be selected on Monday, July 15 around 6:15 p.m.