Several School Board Races To Appear On Nov. 6 Ballot

Several school board races have surfaced since the Friday filing deadline in the Starke County Clerk’s Office.

For Knox Community Schools, voters will select three members from a ballot of eight candidates for Center Township Seats 2, 3, and 4. Those candidates include incumbent members William Kirk Bennett, Gerald (Jerry) Fletcher and Harold A. Welter, and candidates Dawn M. Bailey, Jeffrey B. Fosler, Wendy McIntire, Larry D. Sennert and Valarie Williams. Incumbent Nathan Marcum and challenger Kurt A. Kemble have filed for the California-Washington Township seat.

At Oregon-Davis Schools in the at-large seat, there are five candidates vying for two seats on the board. They include incumbent members Seth Huitt and Kurt Hayes, and candidates Patricia Dianna Gregory, Jeffrey P. Jones and Lee Nagai.

One contested race has formed in the District 2– Union Township seat on the Culver Community School Board. Incumbent Edward Behnke and challenger Mark A. Maes have filed for that position.

Those are the contested races for the school board races that will be on the Nov. 6 General Election ballot.