Several Elected Officials Unopposed Heading into Final Week of Candidate Filing

With less than a week left for candidates to file to run in the May primary, many incumbents remain unopposed. As of Friday afternoon, the only local contested race was for Knox clerk-treasurer. Colleen Hodge and Cyndi Mann-Kidder are vying for the Democratic Party nomination, according to the Starke County Clerk’s Office. Incumbent Jeff Houston is not seeking another term.

In Knox, Mayor Dennis Estok and City Court Judge Charles Hasnerl have filed for reelection, as have city council members Don Kring, Ron Parker, and Jeff Berg. Bill Gustafson is running for his first full term on the council, after he was chosen as a mid-term replacement for Tim Manns last June. No candidates have filed for the at-large seat currently held by Bertha Blue.

The Pulaski County Clerk’s Office says Medaryville Town Council Member Ray Saltsman, Monterey Town Council Member Doug Denton, and Monterey Town Clerk Linda McCune have all filed for reelection.

The deadline for candidate filing is Friday, February 8 at noon local time, with no exceptions.