Culver Town Council to Meet Tonight

The Culver Town Council members will continue discussions on two annexation ordinances when they meet tonight.

The Lambert Trust property annexation request includes 1.26 acres of land just north of State Road 10 and west of State Road 17. Plans are to construct a Dollar General store on that newly rezoned commercial property.  The third reading of the ordinance that would grant annexation is being considered tonight.

The second request is for a daycare facility on the west end of Cass Street.  The first reading of the ordinance will be considered with a public hearing on the request set for the April 9 town council meeting.

Also, the Culver Town Council members will go over a Culver Boys and Girls Club donation request.  Town Manager Jonathan Leist will have updates on activities surrounding the Culver Stellar Communities Designation and his regular report.  The council members will also receive reports from Clerk-Treasurer Karen Heim and the department heads.

The Culver Town Council will meet at 6:30 p.m. ET tonight at the Culver Town Hall at 200 E. Washington Street. 

Starke County Council, Commissioners to Meet Tonight

Starke County Council members (L to R) Brad Hazelton, Dave Pearman, Freddie Baker, Bob Sims, Tom DeCola, Howard Bailey Jr, and Kay Gudeman

The Starke County Council members will discuss a notice of claim submitted by former Starke County Councilman Tom DeCola regarding his reasons to be reinstated to the council.  DeCola claims that he was not given the full 30 days to respond to allegations of disorderly conduct and public intoxication during a “social event hosted by the Indiana Association of Counties” in Indianapolis.  DeCola also claims the Starke County Council wrongfully expelled him for allegations that were outside his term.  He took office on Jan. 1, 2019 and the allegations occurred on Dec. 12, 2018.  He said he wasn’t acting under any type of official duty and has not been criminally charged. He also claims the witnesses who gave statements were unreliable.

Continue reading